The Ryman Prize

About the Ryman Prize


The Ryman Prize is an annual NZ$250,000 award for the world’s best discovery, development, advance or achievement that enhances quality of life for older people. The prize is awarded each year by an international jury appointed by The Ryman Prize Foundation.

The prize, which consists of a cash sum of NZ$250,000 and a commemorative medal, was launched by the Right Honourable John Key, Prime Minister of New Zealand, in February 2015.

The Ryman Prize is an entirely philanthropic initiative. It is independently judged, and apolitical.

The winner is selected each year by an international jury appointed by the Ryman Foundation.

The world’s rapidly ageing population means that in some parts of the globe – including most of the Western world - the population aged 75+ is set to triple in the next 30 years.

This large demographic change brings with it some chronic health issues including diabetes and Alzheimer’s disease. 

The intention behind the prize is to reward great work done, and also to stimulate fresh thought from the planet’s best minds into this area of need. 

The winner will be presented with the Ryman Prize Medal at a ceremony in New Zealand each year.

Registrations for 2023 have closed.


The jurors

Find out more

The winners

Find out more

The Ryman Foundation
and Ryman Prize terms of reference

The Ryman Prize is awarded in New Zealand but is open to anyone, anywhere in the world for work completed on an advance that has been proven to enhance quality of life for older people.

The work could include, but is not limited to, a mechanical device, a discovery, an invention, a study, a book, an initiative, a proven idea, a completed research project or initiative or any other advance that enhances quality of life for older people. The prize is to reward work done - not for speculative projects.

The award can be made to an individual or a team.

Entry is by application or nomination.

The winner of the prize will be determined by an independent international jury which meets three times each year. Up to eight jurors will be selected from across a variety of disciplines.

Media releases and coverage

Enquiries and nominations

The Ryman Prize enquiries


Make an enquiry
The Ryman Prize applications and nominations

Applications and nominations

Find out more