The board



David joined Ryman’s board in 1994 and has held the role of chair since 1999. A general practitioner, David is a fellow and past president of the New Zealand Medical Association and was awarded a Fellowship with Distinction by the Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners. He is chair of Centercare Limited and a director of Forté Health. David was made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the 2020 New Year’s Honours List.


Jo Appleyard LLB (HONS)

Jo is a partner at Chapman Tripp. She is a skilled advocate and litigator specialising in commercial, employment, and resource management law. Jo was a member of the NZ Markets Disciplinary Tribunal between 2011 and 2020.


Warren Bell MCOM, FCA

Warren joined the board in 2011. He is an experienced public and private company director and was previously an audit partner. He is currently chair of Hallenstein Glasson and St George’s Hospital, and is a director of several private companies.


George Savvides AM, BE (HONS), MBA, FAICD

George lives in Melbourne and has extensive experience in Australia’s healthcare industry. In 2016 George retired as Managing Director of Medibank, Australia’s largest health insurer, after 14 years in the role. George joined Ryman’s board in 2013. He is Chair of NextScience Pty Limited, Acting Chair of SBS (Broadcasting), a non-executive director of IAG (Insurance Australia Group) and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Directors. In 2020, George was made a member of the Order of Australia for Australia for significant service to the community, charitable groups and business.


Claire Higgins BCOM, FCPA, FAICD

Based in Victoria, Claire is a non-executive director with experience across a range of sectors in both Australia and New Zealand. She joined Ryman’s board in 2014. Claire is chair of REI Superannuation Pty Ltd and GMHBA Ltd, and holds director positions in the medical device and philanthropic sectors. Claire had a long executive career with BHP and OneSteel Limited before becoming a professional director. Claire is a Fellow member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and CPA Australia.


Geoffrey Cumming BA(HONS), MSC (ECON), LLD

Geoff re-joined the board in June 2018, having previously served as a director from 1999 to 2000. He is a Melbourne-based New Zealand citizen who is an economist, investor, and philanthropist. He has more than 30 years’ experience as a chief executive and as a company director, having served on more than 25 corporate boards in a wide range of countries and industries. 


Anthony Leighs NZCB

Anthony is managing director of Leighs Construction, which he founded in 1995 and built into one of New Zealand’s leading commercial construction contractors. He is a former chairman of the New Zealand Registered Master Builders’ Association. Anthony joined the Ryman board in 2018.


Paula Jeffs BA (Psych & Media), Grad Dip (IR), GAICD, CAHRI

Paula is a Melbourne-based human resources executive with experience across healthcare, finance and government sectors and deep expertise in workforce planning, organisational capability and executive coaching. In the early stages of her working life, Paula spent several years as a carer in the Aged and Disability sector.


Greg Campbell MBA(Dist) FNZIM

Greg joined the board in March 2021. He is an experienced chief executive and board director with more than 25 years’ experience in leading large organisations across Australasia. Greg has strong governance and commercial skills and a deep operational understanding of business. Greg is currently the Chief Executive of Ravensdown Limited and will stand down from this position in May 2021.

Governance documents



The senior executive team