Investor and Company news

Company news

Ryman announces board succession

Written by Ryman Healthcare
on June 01, 2023


Ryman Healthcare is pleased to announce two new appointments to its board of directors.

Dean Hamilton will join the board commencing 1 June 2023 and will subsequently take over as Board Chair on 31 July 2023, following the AGM. Mr Hamilton brings an extensive background in governance, large company leadership and financial markets, across both New Zealand and Australia. He is currently Chair of trans-Tasman civil contractor Fulton Hogan and holds director roles at Auckland International Airport and The Warehouse Group.

James Miller will also join the board commencing 1 June 2023, and will transition to the Audit, Finance and Risk Committee Chair role. Mr Miller is the current Chair of Channel Infrastructure and a director of Mercury NZ and Vista Group. He was previously Chair of NZX and brings extensive knowledge in both Audit and Risk and financial markets.
Interim Chair Claire Higgins, said: “With a focus on refreshing board leadership and bringing new capability to the company, we are delighted to announce the appointments of both Dean and James to the board. They bring a wealth of relevant experience and expertise to Ryman, which will ensure long-term and forward-thinking leadership and governance.”

“Their deep collective knowledge and specialist governance expertise will stand the company in good stead for the future, and we look forward to welcoming them,” continued Mrs Higgins.

Mr Hamilton said: “I am delighted to be joining the board of Ryman. With a deeply-rooted culture of care, a renewed focus on financial performance and expansion opportunities particularly in Australia, the future for the company is exciting. I look forward to contributing and helping lead the company and the committed Ryman team.”
Board member changes George Savvides has already announced his intention to retire from the board. This will take effect from 1 June, to coincide with the appointment of Dean and James.

Longstanding directors Warren Bell and Jo Appleyard have also announced that they will retire at the AGM this year. Geoff Cumming has announced that he will not seek reappointment when his current term expires in 2024.

“I’d like to express my gratitude to the outgoing directors for their dedication and commitment as members of our board over many years and we wish them all the best,” added Mrs Higgins.

Both Claire Higgins and fellow director Paula Jeffs intend to stand for re-election at the forthcoming AGM.
The board will also look to appoint two further directors in the course of the coming year.

About Dean Hamilton
Dean is currently the Chair of Fulton Hogan and a director of Auckland International Airport and The Warehouse Group. Prior to moving into governance in 2018, Dean was the Chief Executive of Silver Ferns Farms and prior to that, was a Managing Director in Investment Banking at Deutsche Bank in New Zealand and Australia.

At Silver Fern Farms, Dean led a team that successfully delivered a substantial turnaround in the organisation’s performance. Silver Fern Farms is New Zealand’s largest red meat processing and marketing organisation that at the time had over 7,000 employees, $2 billion in revenue and 15,000 shareholders. Under Dean’s leadership the business achieved a significant improvement in financial performance and discipline, staff and supplier engagement, sustainability and consumer trust in brand.

Dean was at Deutsche Bank for over 12 years, firstly in New Zealand and then as Managing Director and co-head of the Melbourne investment banking team. Dean was involved with a large variety of clients and transactions, advising on M&A, IPOs, equity and debt raisings and leveraged buy-outs. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce and Administration from Victoria University and is a CMInstD of the NZ Institute of Directors.

About James Miller
James Miller is currently Chair of Channel Infrastructure, and a Director of Mercury NZ and Vista Group. He has recently retired as Chair of NZX, and previously held board positions with Accident Compensation Corporation (deputy Chair), Auckland International Airport, the Financial Markets Authority and Vector. He is currently Chair of the Audit and Risk Committees for Mercury NZ and Vista Group. He has been Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee for Auckland International Airport and Channel Infrastructure and Chair of ACC Investment Committee, overseeing a $50 billion fund.

James has 14 years capital markets experience with Craigs Investment Partners as Head of NZ Wholesale Equities. Prior to that he was Head of Equities and Head of Research at ABN AMRO and Barclays de Zoete Wedd.

James is a qualified Chartered Accountant and is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of New Zealand, a Certified Securities Analyst Professional, and an accredited Director of the Institute of Directors in NZ Inc. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce from Otago University and is a graduate of The Advanced Management Program, Harvard Business School (USA).

About Ryman:

Ryman Healthcare was founded in Christchurch in 1984 and owns and operates 48 retirement villages in New Zealand and Australia. Ryman villages are home to 14,200 residents, and the company employs 7,600 staff. 

For investor relations information and enquiries:

Contact Hayden Strickett, Head of Investor Relations - email: 

Share registrar:

Our share register is managed by Link Market Services. Please send a change of personal details or any questions about dividends to or phone +64 9 375 5998.

For media information or images:

Contact Silke Marsh, Corporate Affairs Manager, on 027 294 3609 (+64 27 294 3609) or email

You may also like: