Text Size Reset Font Size Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size

Our History

1984 Ryman Healthcare founded by John Ryder and Kevin Hickman
1996 Opened first village offering full continuum of care – Rowena Jackson Retirement Village in Invercargill
1996 Investment by Direct Capital Partners and Ngai Tahu
1999 Listed on NZX, raising $25 million, market capitalisation $135 million, 1,600 shareholders
1999 Opened Malvina Major Retirement Village – first North Island village
2003 Entry into NZX 50
2003 Opened first Auckland village – Grace Joel Retirement Village
2007 Doubled target growth rate to 300 retirement village units and 100 resthome/hospital beds
2007 Opened flagship Edmund Hillary village in Auckland
2009 Entry into NZX 10
2010 Opened 21st village in Orewa
2011 Lifted growth rate to 550 units or beds per annum in New Zealand
2011 Acquired first site in Australia at Wheelers Hill, Melbourne
2012 Lifted growth rate to 700 units and beds per annum in New Zealand
2013 Construction underway at first Australian village
2014 Acquired second Melbourne site at Brandon Park
2014 Opened first Australian village - Weary Dunlop Retirement Village, Wheelers Hill
2014 Opened Bruce McLaren Retirement Village, Howick, Auckland
2015 First residents arrive at Possum Bourne village in Auckland and Bob Scott village in Wellington
2016 Bought third site in Melbourne at Burwood East
2016 First residents arrive at Charles Upham village in Rangiora and Bert Sutcliffe in Auckland
2016 Historic Moondah Estate at Mt Eliza bought by Ryman
2016 Bought Coburg site in Melbourne
2017 Bought sixth site in Victoria at Geelong
2017 Bought seventh site in Victoria at Mt Martha
2018 Bought eighth site in Victoria at Aberfeldie
2018 Bought Havelock North site
2018 First residents moved into Logan Campbell village
2018 Bought ninth site in Victoria at Ocean Grove
Today Over 5,000 staff and 11,000 residents; paid $740 million of dividends since listing; market capitalisation more than $5 billion; 32 retirement villages in New Zealand and Australia; over 14,500 shareholders

Village Openings

1986 Woodcote
1991 Essie Summers
1993 Margaret Stoddart
1994 Frances Hodgkins
1996 Rowena Jackson
1999 Malvina Major and Ngaio Marsh
2000 Shona McFarlane
2001 Rita Angus
2002 Hilda Ross
2003 Grace Joel
2005 Princess Alexandra
2006 Jane Winstone
2007 Anthony Wilding, Edmund Hillary and Julia Wallace
2008 Ernest Rutherford
2009 Jean Sandel, Jane Mander and Evelyn Page
2011 Yvette Williams and Kiri Te Kanawa
2012 Bob Owens and Diana Isaac
2013 Charles Fleming
2014 Weary Dunlop and Bruce McLaren
2015 Possum Bourne and Bob Scott
2016 Charles Upham and Bert Sutcliffe